Skip to main content
Follow us on Twitter Follow us on Facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on LinkedIn Contact Us
Home | Curriculum | Pathways | Courses | Childcare


Block 4
Assessment: External 25% | Internal 75%
Head of Faculty: Ms A. Mayfield

This qualification has been developed to provide an engaging and stimulating introduction to the world of early years for learners aged 13 and over. All 3 of the units in this qualification are compulsory to ensure that learners develop a broad and comprehensive understanding of the early years sector, taking into account the recent Nutbrown review (June 2012) and its recommendations for content within early years qualifications, including the importance of:

Unit 1: Patterns of Child Development - for the 0 to 7 age range – which is reflected in the birth up to eight years focus for  this qualification. (Externally assessed 30 GLH- 25% of the qualification)
Unit 2: Promoting Children’s Development Through Play - as a route of children’s learning, which forms the basis of early years frameworks, such as the Early Years Foundation Stage (England) and Foundation Phase (Wales) – which is covered in this unit (Internally assessed 30 GLH)
Unit 3: The Principles of Early Years Practice. This unit focuses on inclusive practice and empowering children, as well as the key person within early years settings – which is covered in this unit. It has been developed to reflect recent thinking and research in the sector, including the importance of having knowledge and understanding of child development for the age range from birth up to 8 years (i.e. 7 years and 11 months). (Internally assessed 60 GLH).

Assessing learners through external assessment will help learners as they progress either into higher levels of vocational learning or to related academic qualifications, by providing independent assessment evidence of learning alongside the portfolio-based assessment. This approach will also assist learners in developing a range of transferable skills, and in applying their knowledge in unfamiliar contexts.

The remaining  2 units are internally assessed. Internal assessment enables learners to develop a wider range of skills and provide evidence towards meeting the unit assessment criteria.

The assessment criteria require learners to demonstrate that they can identify and use effectively an appropriate selection of skills, techniques, concepts, theories and knowledge from across the mandatory units in an integrated way. Assignments will support learners in drawing knowledge and understanding from across the qualification. Examples of this include drawing on knowledge of how early years settings structure play to promote children’s learning and development. This assessment is assessed internally according to the regulations.

Progression opportunities The Pearson BTEC Level 1/Level 2 First Award in Children’s Play, Learning and Development provides the knowledge, understanding and skills for level 2 learners to progress to:

  • other level 2 vocational qualifications
  • level 3 vocational qualifications, such as the BTEC Nationals in Children’s Play, Learning and Development, or the BTEC Nationals in other sectors, such as in health and social care
  • related academic qualifications
  • apprenticeships within the early years and health and social care sectors.

Learners who achieve the qualification at Level 1 may progress to related level 2 vocational or academic qualifications, such as BTECs or GCSEs.

Ken Stimpson Community School
Staniland Way
PE4 6JT (Sat Nav users: PE4 6WR)